Wednesday, January 23, 2013

The International Loupe Awards 2012

The International Loupe Awards 2012

Winners Announced!

The 5th Annual International Loupe Awards consisted of 8 open categories and 3 amateur categories,
in addition to the medium Format Art Prize (yet to be announced). It is one of the world’s richest
photographic competitions, with a total prize pool in excess of US$80,000 in 2012! This year saw a
total of 5625 images entered in the competition from 2341 photographers in 92 countries.

The 2012 International Loupe Awards Open Image of the Year is by Andreas Smetana of NSW,
Australia. Andreas has been recognized for his work globally, winning awards at some of the most
prestigious shows around the world. Andreas's versatility in shooting a wide variety of genres has made
him one of Australia's most sought after photographers.

Andreas has won the $15,000 cash prize and a place on the upcoming Creative Asia Vietnam &
China Photography Tour.

The 2012 Open category winners:
People and Portrait – Bill Gekas
Science and Nature – Bas Meelker
Photo Journalism – Tong Leng Liew
Sport – Steve Evans
Commercial, Advertising & Fashion – Bryn Griffiths
Wedding – Keda.Z Feng
Landscape – Luke Austin
Illustrative – Martin Stranka

The 2012 International Loupe Awards Amateur Image of the Year is by Suellen Cook. Suellen is a
born and bred Tasmanian. With a body of beautiful landscape work and a passion to create, Suellen is
making quite a name for herself with her amazingly intricate and conceptual illustrative work.

Suellen has won a fantastic prize from the guys at Kayell Australia. Including products from Lastolite,
Elinchrom, Datacolor, Drobo, Canson, Orbis and iOShutter. This prize is valued at over $5,000.

The other 2012 Amateur category winners:
People and Portrait – Kimberley Munro
Landscape - David Anderson

The 2012 International Loupe Awards is proudly supported by Kayell Australia, Epson Australia,
Sofitel Luxury Hotels, Better Photography Magazine, Lastolite Professional, Datacolor Spyder, Drobo,
Elinchrom, Nik Software and Canson.

Previous winning and highly ranked images from the 2008, 2009, 2010 and 2011 competitions can be
seen on the website

No comments:

Advertisement – Deals